top of page

Spring Is Here 2024

An afternoon of classical music

Quartet Posters (4).png

Dennis Concert is Sold Out

Join the Cape Cod String Quartet for an unforgettable experience at their third annual"Spring Is Here” Concert Series, where the spotlight will be on Max Richter's groundbreaking work, "Spring 1 Recomposed." Richter's unique approach to Vivaldi's timeless "The Four Seasons" goes beyond mere transcription and rearrangement. In his own words, he absorbed Vivaldi's

original work "into his own musical bloodstream.”


In addition to Richter's innovative composition, the Cape Cod String Quartet will present a diverse selection of pieces, including Mozart's "Dissonance" quartet. This quartet opens with an introduction that foreshadows the mystery and romantic pathos reminiscent of late Beethoven. At times, it even flirts with the twentieth-century atonality characteristic of Arnold Schoenberg.


Continuing the program, George Walker's "Lyric for Strings” will be featured. Composed when Walker was only 24 years old, the piece's sound, structure, and instrumentation are clearly inspired by the famous Adagio for Strings composed by Walker’s Curtis Institute classmate Samuel Barber in 1936. 

The 2024 Spring Is Here Series is sponsored by Mass Cultural Council


Additional Information and tickets:

Spring Is Here 2023 Concert Poster - Cape Cod String Quartet

Our second annual Spring Is Here series will transport you to a place of renewal. Vivaldi's Spring, the first concerto of the Four Seasons, is describing its freshness and beauty. Arvo Part's Summa has been described as "gently rocked muted harmonic simplicities back and forth". The concert continues with Haydn's "Lark" quartet of which Richard Wigmore in his valuable Pocket Guide to Haydn writes: “The first movement’s unforgettable, winged melody, high on the first violin’s E-string, is played as a soaring descant to the pawky, staccato march for the three lower instruments that had opened the proceedings. The performance will conclude with a string quartet arrangement of "The Lark Ascending" by English composer Ralph Vaughan Williams. The Lark Ascending is a unique work, but often underrated possibly because its very simplicity is deceptive. It depicts a pastoral scene with the violin imitating the titular songbird and the orchestra representing the landscape beneath.

The 2023 Spring Is Here Series is dedicated to the memory of Erik Menyhart.

Series Sponsors:


Additional Information and tickets:

Cape Cod String Quartet concert sponsor - Arts Foundation of Cape Cod
Cape Cod String Quartet concert sponsor - Cape Cod Five Savings Bank

Spring Is Here 2022

Spring Is Here 2022 Concert Poster - Cape Cod String Quartet

Repertoire includes works by Haydn, Mozart and Florence Price

Additional Information:


bottom of page